Measles, Mumps, Rubella
New York State Public Health Law requires all college students born after 1956, and taking 6 credit hours or more during a semester, to provide proof of immunity to measles, mumps, and rubella.
This is what you need to provide:
- Measles (rubeola): Two dates of immunization
Both dates must be after 1967, and on or after your first birthday. Measles immunizations given in 1967 or before may be accepted if a live vaccine was used. A positive measles titer (blood test) or a disease statement from the diagnosing physician also constitutes valid proof of immunity.
- Rubella (German measles): One date of immunization
The date must be on or after your first birthday. A positive rubella titer (blood test) is also an acceptable proof of immunity in lieu of an immunization date.
- Mumps: One immunization date
The date must be on or after your first birthday. A positive mumps titer (blood test) or a disease statement from the diagnosing physician also constitutes valid proof of immunity.
You can obtain this information from your physician, high school record, former college, or baby immunization record book. Please use this health report form and submit to the College Health Services Office by the start of classes.
If you have a valid medical reason for not complying with this law, please advise the College Health Services Office. Your physician can sign a medical waiver form for you.
An exemption for religious belief is also available, and must be approved by the Health Services Office.
New York State Public Health Law requires colleges to distribute information about meningococcal disease and vaccinations to all students taking 6 credit hours or more, whether they live on or off campus.
Cayuga Community College is required to maintain a record of the following for each student:
- A response to receipt of information on meningococcal disease and vaccine, signed by the student or the student's parent or guardian (for students under age 18) ; and either
- A record of meningococcal meningitis immunization within the past 10 years; or
- An acknowledgement of meningococcal disease risks and refusal of meningococcal meningitis immunizations, signed by the student or the student's parent or guardian (for students under age 18)
Please read more about this requirement and submit your response to the College by the start of classes.
These laws allow a 30-day grace period for you to comply. Therefore, you will be restricted from class attendance 30 days after classes begin unless you comply before that date. You may resume classes as soon as you are in compliance with this law. Financial Aid and Final Grades will be withheld and no further registration allowed until you have met NYS requirements.
Any concerns or questions should be directed to the Health Services Office on the Auburn campus, 315-255-1743, extension 2249 or 2203.