Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes for May 13, 2013

Minutes of the special meeting of the Board of Trustees held Monday, May 13, 2013, in the Student Lounge on the Auburn Campus.



  • Mr. John M. Camardo
  • Mrs. Melina Carnicelli
  • Mr. Kevin D. Coleman
  • Mr. Jeffrey Edwards
  • Hon. George C. Fearon
  • Mr. John A. Karpinski
  • Mr. Stanley J. Kott
  • Mr. John J. Klink
  • Dr. Linda P. Van Buskirk


  • Mrs. Jane Bowen




  • Dr. Daniel P. Larson, President
  • Dr. Anne J. Herron, Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs
  • Diane L. Hutchinson, Vice President of Administration & Treasurer
  • Jeffrey E. Rosenthal, Vice President of Student Affairs
  • Jeffrey Hoffman, Executive Director of College Foundation
  • Margaret Spillett, Director of Public Relations and Institutional Communications
  • Scott Whalen, Director of Human Resources
  • Members of the Faculty Association
  • Members of the Administrative/Professional Group
  • Members of the Educational Staff Professionals
  • Members of the Maintenance/Custodial Staff
  • Students that represented the Auburn and Fulton campus

Mr. Camardo called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.


The following individuals addressed the Board with regard to the current issues facing the College:

  • David Harbaugh/Network Operations Administrator
  • Kristen Marino/President of the SGO – Fulton campus
  • Emily DelFavero/on behalf of student, Amy Ankrum
  • Alex Rider/Student
  • Thomas Piascik


Mr. Camardo announced that the Board needed to adjourn into Executive Session to discuss collective bargaining.

Motion to adjourn into Executive Session made by Mr. Ms. Carnicelli, seconded by Mr. Fearon and carried by unanimous voice vote.

The Board adjourned into Executive Session at 6:25 p.m.

At 8:40 p.m. a motion was made by Mr. Kott to return to regular session, seconded by Dr. Van Buskirk and carried unanimously.

Mr. Camardo read the following resolution:

Wherefore, terms have been approved by the three bargaining units – Faculty Association, Administrational Professional Group, and Educational Support Professionals – and drafts of each memorandum have been exchanged; and,

Wherefore, the agreements are ready to be finalized and signed by the College President and the respective unions; and,

Wherefore, the agreements will address the current operating budget issue and provide time for the College community to address its future challenges;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, the Board of Trustees directs the College President, and College counsel, to finalize and sign the agreements with each bargaining unit.

Motion to approve made by Ms. Carnicelli, seconded by Mr. Fearon and carried 6 to 3 with Mr. Camardo, Ms. Carnicelli, Mr. Coleman, Mr. Fearon, Mr. Klink, and Dr. Van Buskirk voting "yes" and Mr. Edwards, Mr. Karpinski, and Mr. Kott voting "no".



Mr. Karpinski moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Mr. Coleman and carried by unanimous voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 8:45 p.m.


Recorded and transcribed by:
Carolyn L. Guariglia
Secretary to the Board

Respectfully submitted:
Stanley J. Kott,
Secretary, Board of Trustees