Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
CJ Student Receives Scholarship from NYS Sheriff’s Association

DATE: 12-17-2012

Cayuga Community College student Jaime Nielsen of Savannah, N.Y., received a $250 scholarship from the New York State Sheriffs’ Association. Cayuga County Sheriff David Gould and College President Daniel P. Larson presented her with a certificate and the check on December 17 at the College.

Nielson, a police major, received the award in recognition of her academic excellence and performance in the classroom. A regular on the Dean’s List, she completed the associate’s degree in criminal justice this December and maintains a 3.8 GPA. She will attend SUNY Oswego in January, and then plans on becoming a New York State trooper.

“The New York State Sheriffs’ Association is proud to recognize and reward Jaime for her efforts,” said Cayuga County Sheriff David Gould. “I am happy to be here to present her with this award.”

“She is a great student, and this is a well-deserved honor,” said retired NYS Trooper and College Adjunct Faculty Member James Campbell, who has taught Nielson in class. He accompanied Nielson and the other members of the Criminal Justice Club to visit the police academy, and told her that he wants to be invited to the ceremony when she becomes a trooper. “She’ll make a great officer.”

Before starting at SUNY Oswego, Nielsen will travel with Cayuga Community College students and faculty for a two-week travel study program in London. She said she will use part of her award money on the trip and the remaining portion to pay for registration fees at SUNY Oswego.

She said she decided to pursue law enforcement as a career because several people in her family are police officers. “I want to help others and do something meaningful,” said Nielsen, who served as secretary of the Criminal Justice Club at Cayuga.

Each year, the New York State Sheriffs’ Association awards 32 scholarships for $250 throughout the state. One scholarship is awarded at each community college in the state. The scholarship recipient is selected based on academic excellence and a proven desire to pursue a career in criminal justice or a related field.