Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Cayuga Community College Recognizes Participants in 2011 Cayuga Leadership Academy

DATE: 05-18-2011

On May 18, approximately 40 faculty and staff members at Cayuga Community College gathered to recognize their peers who have completed the first-ever Cayuga Leadership Academy program. The College, in partnership with the Institute for Community College Development at Cornell University, is participating in the program to develop and enhance the leadership skills of its employees.

“Leaders don’t have a magic crystal ball that shows them what path to take,” said College President Daniel P. Larson. He talked about the notion of “cognitive dissonance” and how conflicting ideas and their resolution can help leaders come to a new path.

“All of us have qualities of a leader that we call upon when we need them,” he said. “I hope this program helps you recognize those qualities in yourself so you can share them with the College.”

Carol Runge, director of institutional research and planning, and Maureen Erickson, director of assessment, administered the academy, which included completion of an individual skill inventory, intensive half-day workshops, and consultation with mentors who are senior leaders at the College.

“These activities covered a range of topics including conflict resolution, change, and diversity,” Runge said. “This program expands the leadership capacity throughout the entire organization.”

Each of the 12 participants continues to work on assignments that support targeted skill development while contributing to Cayuga Community College’s strategic plan.

The following Cayuga Leadership participants received plaques for their work:

  • Eleanor G. Beck, adjunct lecturer
  • Michael A. Cortese, instructor of music
  • Darlene A. Duger, principal stenographer
  • Bob Frame, director of theatre operations
  • Melissa Johnson, instructor of art
  • Terry L. Kupp, interim director, Academic Support Center/disability specialist
  • John E. Lamphere, assistant professor of history
  • Theresa L. Misiaszek, instructor of criminal justice
  • Meg Osborne, career placement and planning counselor
  • Mike Pastore, registrar
  • H. Robert Rice, adjunct lecturer
  • Adam Williams, webmaster

During the ceremony, Dr. Larson also recognized the program mentors, which included Steve Keeler, Bill Lovell, Maureen Erickson, Keith Batman, Bill Roberts, Debbie Moeckel, R. L. Murray, Bruce Blodgett, Patrick McPeak, and Ron Grube.

To learn more about the program, visit