Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Cayuga Community College Telcom Department recognizes student accomplishments at annual banquet

DATE: 05-06-2011

The theatrically lit room filled with cheers as Cayuga Community College student and Radio and Television (RAT) Guild president Ryan Parlo welcomed his fellow television and communications (telcom) peers, faculty, alumni, and staff to the department’s annual banquet May 4 at the Auburn Public Theatre.

He recalled some of the highlights of the year—zombie movie night, under-ordering pizza for the guild’s weekly meetings, and producing some very engaging videos and radio clips.

“This is a great community college, and I’m glad I found it,” said Parlo, a native of Elmira, N.Y.

Co-sponsored by AmeriCU, the Telcom Dept, RAT Guild, and the Cayuga Record Club, the event brings together the nearly 100 students enrolled in the broadcasting and e-media programs and recognizes the top video and radio productions of the year as well as commencement award winners.

Mesa Grande catered the event, and award-winners and nominees received a gift card to the Auburn restaurant, courtesy of AmeriCU.

Telcom Department Chair and Professor Steve Keeler served as master of ceremonies and recognized the former faculty members and alumni who returned to the area to participate in the annual banquet.

Following the presentation of the awards, attendees watched the winning videos, which ranged from music videos to public service announcements to comedy clips to dramatic short films.

This year’s winners are:

Scholarships and Commencement Awards

These students will have their names permanently displayed on plaques the Telcom Award Display Area:

  • Mark Castiglione Commencement Award or Contributions to the Department

Ryan Parlo


  • Telecommunications Faculty Award for Service to the Department

Lucy Hall, Ben Keeler, Scott Weaver


  • Society of Broadcast Engineers Scholarships ($500 each)

Christian Darrow, Lucy Hall


  • Radio Advisors Award for Outstanding Service to the WDWN (college radio station)

Bridget McNally, Adam Nelson


  • Neilia Hunter Biden Award

Jim Collins


  • Telcom Audio Production Award For Excellence in Audio Production

Joseph Giancarelli


Other awards


  • WDWN Service Award

Gussie Mull


  • Certificate of Excellence in Music Promotion

Theodore Manley



TV Production Awards


Best Video – Video Production of the Year

 Technologic – Lucy Hall, Theo Manley


Best Director

Lucy Hall


Tyndale Parseghian

Megan McLaughlin


Best Video Editor

Tyndale Parseghian


Lucy Hall


Best Dramatic Video

Pleasuring Grief – Lucy Hall


Best PSA

Poof – Lucy Hall, Megan McLaughlin, Alex Conn, Nick Bolak


Finger Lakes SPCA – Britni Gallo, Paul Farinelli


Best Comedy

White Women – Megan McLaughlin, Josh Cook, Nick Bolak


Boogie Man – Lance Hall, Ryan McConnell, Kate McCleneghan

The Real World –Bryan Schlenker, Tyndale Parseghian, Katie Sperduti


Best Promotional Video

Prom Dress Project – Kate McCleneghan, Ben Keeler, Lance Hall, Jon Stamp


Best Informational Video

CCC Promo – Tyndale Parseghian, Bryan Schlenker, Katie Sperduti


CCC Promo – Megan McLaughlin, Nick Bolak, Josh Cook


Best Script

The Real World –Bryan Schlenker, Tyndale Parseghian, Katie Sperduti

Pleasuring Grief – Lucy Hall


Best Music Video

Maneater – Tyndale Parseghian, Bryan Schlenker, Katie Sperduti


The Stone – Megan McLaughlin, Josh Cook, Nick Bolak

Technologic – Lucy Hall, Theo Manley