Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Cayuga Community College Foundation awards 27 Scholarships to Area High School Seniors

DATE: 05-01-2011

On May 1, Cayuga Community College recognized 27 area high school seniors with scholarships to help cover the cost of tuition when they begin their studies at Cayuga this fall.

The College hosted the students and their families at an awards breakfast in the Faculty/Staff Dining Room on the Auburn Campus.

College President Daniel P. Larson welcomed the students and congratulated them on their scholastic achievements.

“You are among our best and brightest,” Larson said. “You will be entering the College at a very dynamic point in its history with a number of projects in the works, with an expansion into a new facility for our Fulton Campus, the construction of a new arts education and performance center in downtown Auburn, and the exploration of student housing and outdoor athletic facilities. We hope that you take advantage of all  the opportunities a Cayuga education opens up for you, and we wish you great success here, and beyond.”

Sponsored by the Auburn Community College/Cayuga Community College Alumni Association, the awards breakfast highlights the incoming students with merit-based scholarships who have all been accepted into the College’s Honors Program. The Honors option is designed for academically motivated students wishing to study the liberal arts and sciences and ultimately preparing to transfer to a four-year college.

“The Alumni Association is pleased to once again sponsor this event,” Director of Alumni Affairs Louise B. Wilson said to the students. “It’s hard to imagine right now, but before you know it, you will be an alum. Hopefully, you will continue your education, but wherever your path takes you, we hope you don’t forget where it all began - right here at Cayuga.”

The College gave out full-tuition Honors Scholarships to Philip F. DeCicca of Auburn High School and Patricia J. Stephenson of Mexico Academy. These scholarships not only cover the cost of tuition, but also any fees. They were selected based on their academic excellence by the Honors Committee, which is made up of representatives from the admissions office and the Honors Program.

College Foundation Executive Director Jeffrey Hoffman said that the foundation awards nearly $300,000 annually in scholarships to Cayuga students, and reminded students and families to apply for second-year student scholarships next spring.

“We give out even more money to second-year students,” Hoffman said. “So keep your eye out for those opportunities next year.”

In addition to Wilson, the ceremony featured several speakers from the College, including Bruce Blodgett, director of admissions; Kathy Gross, math professor and Honors Program coordinator; and Mary Bulkot, English professor and Honors Program coordinator.

Other award recipients are:

  • Antonino and Matteo Bartolotta Scholarships of Merit

o   Connor H. Terry of Weedsport, Weedsport Jr./Sr. High School

o   Emily K. Sherman of Auburn, Auburn High School

o   Erica M. Baird of Jordan, Cato-Meridian High School

o   Kathryn G. Carter of Auburn, Southern Cayuga High School

  • Richard Bunn Memorial Scholarship

o   Teri J. Stornelli of Auburn, Dana L. West High School

  • Vincent M. Klein Scholarship

o   Michael J. Ferlenda of Auburn, Auburn High School

o   Christina M. Giroux of Martville, Cato-Meridian High School

  • Kenneth and Margaret Lesch Jahn Memorial Scholarship

o   Andrew D. Schemerhorn of Auburn, Auburn High School

  • William and Esther Norris Scholarships

o   Kyle L. Glanville of Moravia, Moravia High School

o   Audriana M. Murray of Genoa, Southern Cayuga High School

  • Freshman Scholarships of Merit

o   Kimberly S. Rose of Fulton, G. Ray Bodley High School

o   Eamon G. Teeling of Wolcott, Sodus Central School

o   Edward A. Chalon of Cato, Cato-Meridian High School

o   Jennifer B. Marshall of Auburn, Auburn High School

o   Chelsea L. Morrissey of Union Springs, Southern Cayuga High School

o   Joseph E. Copeland of Skaneateles, Skaneateles Central School

o   Tia M. Segretto of Memphis, Jordan-Elbridge High School

o   Patrick D. DeSantis of Skaneateles, Tyburn Academy

o   Zachary C. Simolo of Seneca Falls, Mynderse Academy

o   James R. Chetney of Oswego, Oswego High School

o   Joseph W. Rusaw of Fulton, G. Ray Bodley High School

o   Margaret E. DeLine of Central Square, Paul V. Moore High School

o   Crue V. Dutcher of Savannah, Clyde-Savannah High School

o   Ketelyn N. Ford of Hannibal, Hannibal Central School

o   Peter G. Klock of Auburn, Union Springs High School