Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Trustee Appointment and Elections at Cayuga Community College

DATE: 10-06-2009

Thomas Ganey

Thomas E. Ganey of Auburn has joined the Board of Trustees of Cayuga Community College. Ganey was appointed by Governor David Paterson to fill a vacancy on the 10-member Board. A Cayuga Community College alumnus with a career in banking, Ganey is President and CEO of Savannah Bank, NA. After earning an associate's degree in accounting from Cayuga, he graduated from the School of Bank Administration at the University of Wisconsin and the National School of Banking at Fairfield University. Ganey chairs the City of Auburn Empire Zone Board and serves on the board of Matthew House, a not-for-profit setting for hospice services to the terminally ill. He is CEO of Auburn Community-Owned Non-Profit Baseball Association, which operates the Auburn Doubledays minor league team.


Recent elections by the Trustees resulted in a new slate of Board officers:

John Camardo
  • Chair John M. Camardo of Auburn. An alumnus and former Student Trustee of Cayuga Community College, Camardo was appointed to the Board by the Cayuga County Legislature in 2005. General sales manager and customer relations manager for H&L Ford/Lincoln/Mercury in Auburn, Camardo also owns and manages commercial and residential properties in Auburn and is a member of the City of Auburn Civil Service Commission. He earned an associate's degree in accounting from Cayuga Community College and a bachelor's degree in business from SUNY Utica.


Jeff Edwards
  • Vice chair Jeffrey L. Edwards of Genoa. Edwards was appointed by the Cayuga County Legislature to fill the unexpired term of former Board member Gena Speno, who resigned her seat in August. He had recently concluded a prior gubernatorial appointment to the Board, during which he served as chair, vice chair and secretary. Owner of Edwards Eggs in southern Cayuga County, Edwards has chaired the Cayuga County Civil Service Commission since 1998. As a Cayuga County legislator from 1986 to 1991, he chaired the finance and judicial committees. He holds a degree in accounting from Clarkson College of Technology.


Jane Bowen
  • Secretary Jane J. Bowen of Union Springs. Appointed to the Board in 2006 by then-Governor George Pataki, Bowen is a nurse with the Union Springs Central School District and has served as Springport town clerk and a Cayuga County legislator. A graduate of Tompkins County Community College and St. Joseph's Hospital School of Nursing in Elmira, she has served on the Aurora Medical Center Board of Directors and as a registered nurse volunteer with area emergency and public health agencies.


Also serving on the ten-member Board of Trustees of Cayuga Community College are George C. Fearon of Springport, John A. Karpinski, Esq. and Pamela S. Kirkwood of Auburn, Stanley J. Kott of Fleming, Linda P. Van Buskirk, Ph.D., of Aurora, and Student Trustee Kirk Bennett of Union Springs.