Skip to Main Content View Site Map
Top of Page
Three Cayuga CC Students Win SUNY Chancellor's Award

DATE: 05-07-2008

Three members of the Cayuga Community College class of 2008 have received the highest recognition given annually by the State University of New York to students across the 64 SUNY campuses. Among the 275 statewide recipients of this year's SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence are:

  • Jan Elizabeth Baum and Sherry L. Eichmann, both residents of Fulton enrolled at the Fulton campus
  • Kathleen E. Brown, an Auburn resident attending the Auburn campus

Statewide, the grade point average of the 2008 award recipients averages 3.75 out of a possible 4.0. Besides recognizing outstanding grades, the Chancellor's Award honors students for significant accomplishments in the campus or community. Nominations from the campuses are reviewed by a SUNY committee before final selections are made by the Chancellor.

"This year's recipients of the Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence are among the most gifted and talented students in the entire SUNY system," said SUNY Interim Chancellor John B. Clark in announcing the awards. "I congratulate them, their families and the campuses for all their achievements."

The Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence was created 11 years ago by the State University of New York.